Child Support is money paid by the non-custodial parent to the parent with whom the child(ren) reside. Its purpose is to provide a home and necessary items for the child(ren). The State of Indiana has official Child Support Guidelines to help calculate the amount of support, taking into account the number of children, income of both parents, the number of subsequent children in the household, and other factors.
A judge can order a support amount or the parties can agree. Payments are usually made through the Clerk’s Office in the Washington County Justice Center, which keeps a record of all payments. Many people pay support by Wage Withholding Orders which allow their employers to send weekly payments to the Clerk automatically.
You do not have to hire an attorney to seek support or to request modification of child support, although many people find this is best. The Washington County Prosecutor’s Office has a child support enforcement division which, for a nominal fee, will represent custodial parents in court. Their phone number is 812-883-6569 and they are located in the Washington County Government Building just south of Superior Court.
Except when withheld by wage withholding orders, payments to the Clerk must be made by cash, certified check, or money order and should include the case number.
MAKING CHILD SUPPORT PAYMENTS
*Cash payments may still be accepted at the county clerk’s office during regular business hours M-F 8:00 am to 4:00 pm
Indiana law requires your child support payments be made to the Indiana State Central Collection Unit, “INSCCU”. The INSCCU will accept payments in the form of Personal checks, Money orders, and Cashier’s checks (Do not send cash). When sending a child support payment to INSCCU, include the following information:
- Your name
- Your phone number
- Last 4 digits of your social security #
- Your address
- Payment amount
- Your ISETS case #
- Your Court cause #
- Custodial party’s name
A Child Support Remittance Form found at www.INSCCU.com may be downloaded, completed, printed and sent in with payment to the following address:
P.O. Box 7130
Indianapolis, IN 46207-7130
*Cash payments may still be accepted at the county clerk’s office during regular business hours M-F 8:00 am to 4:00 pm.
CHILD SUPPORT PAYMENT HISTORIES AVAILABLE
Child support payment histories may be obtained, with proof of identification, (Photo I.D. required). There is a $1.00 fee for each page. Certification is $1.00 extra. Questions relating to recent payments, disbursement, and court order information should be directed to INSCCU at 800-840-8757 or 317-241-9636 (TTY) Monday thru Friday 7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. and Saturday from 7:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. (Automated phone service is also available 24 hours per day, seven days per week).
ANNUAL DOCKET FEE DUE
Under Indiana Law (IC 33-19-6-5), the payor is required to remit an annual docket fee of $55. This fee cannot be deducted from a child support payment and payor should specify remittance as annual docket fee.